IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Acclimatization in the urban and territorial project: anticipating the freshness grid in a context of climate change. The case of the Rhone Valley project

Research fields Urban studies
Keywords Acclimatization
Resilience
Freshness grid
Environmental forms
Funding
Duration April 2020 - December 2020
Website
Researchers Delabarre Muriel (Principal Investigator) [web] [email]
Fallot Jean-Michel (Project co-applicant) [web] [email]
Reynard Emmanuel (Project co-applicant) [web] [email]
Tranda Pittion Michèle (---)
Vignal Bertrand (---)


This research project is devoted to the theme of acclimatization in the urban and territorial project in the perspective of producing a framework of freshness in a context of climate change. It focuses on a current theme: the third correction of the Rhone. The cantons of Vaud and Valais intend to take advantage of the opportunities offered by the major project of the 3rd correction of the Rhône (R3) to rethink the landscaping of the river banks and to have a global vision, a common thread, in this sense.

The project of the 3rd correction of the Rhone plans to redevelop the banks and their connections, along the entire length of the river from Gletsch to Lake Geneva. It offers the project owners the opportunity to make the largest public space in the whole canton of Valais and an intercantonal public space in the Chablais available to the population, by bringing quality, in a coherent and coordinated way. The Office Cantonal de la Construction du Rhône OCCR3, launched in 2019 an international competition in urban planning for the development of the Rhone (MEP procedure - Mandat d'Etudes Parallèles - bringing together several firms of landscape architects and urban planners and, among them, a consortium led by the Agence Base directed by Bertrand Vignal, lecturer at the FGSE, and composed of several design offices, including Topos Urbanisme (directed by Michèle Tranda-Pittion, lecturer at the FGSE) ; Emmanuel Reynard, Professor at the IGD and President of the association "Mémoires du Rhône", acted as an expert in this project. The Rhônatureparc project, proposed by the consortium led by the Base Agency, placed particular emphasis on the geographical relationships between the Rhone, the plain and the hillsides and valleys and on the possibility of using the project for the development of public spaces in connection with the Third Correction of the Rhone to anticipate the adaptation of the plain to the ongoing climate changes.
The project offers us the opportunity to deploy a new research-action project to think about the subject of acclimatization in a perspective of global warming. The change of paradigm for the development and management of the Rhone is notable: the two previous corrections were designed to be safe and economical; in addition to these aspects, the project selected for the next correction of the Rhone should be ecological, co-constructed and above all resilient.

Four thematic axes structure this project:

1 - Nature resources. Analysis and modelling of the natures present in situ (water, air, soil, vegetation and living) - qualitative and quantitative spatial analyses

2 - Analysis of the project process

3 - Landscape urbanism: morphological optimization of environmental forms

4 - Collaborative co-design and operating modes

Research collaborators:

Bertrand Vignal, co-director of Agence BASE - lecturer in project workshop at UNIL
Michèle Tranda-Pittion, topos urbanisme, lecturer in project workshop at UNIL
N.N. scientific collaborator

Partner of the research-action project: Agence BASE




3ème correction du Rhône

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


L’acclimatation dans le projet urbain et territorial : anticiper la trame de fraîcheur dans un contexte de changement climatique. Le cas du projet de la vallée du Rhône

Domaines de recherche Mondes urbains
Mot-clefs Acclimatation
Résilience
Trame de fraîcheur
Formes environnementales
Financement Université de Lausanne
Durée Avril 2020 - décembre 2020
Site Web
Chercheuses / Chercheurs Delabarre Muriel (Principal·e requérant·e du projet) [web] [email]
Fallot Jean-Michel (Co-requérant·e du projet) [web] [email]
Reynard Emmanuel (Co-requérant·e du projet) [web] [email]
Tranda Pittion Michèle
Vignal Bertrand

Ce projet de recherche action est consacré au thème de l'acclimatation dans le projet urbain et territorial dans la perspective de produire une trame de fraîcheur dans un contexte de changement climatique. Il se focalise sur un thème d'actualité : la troisième correction du Rhône. Les cantons de Vaud et du Valais entendent profiter des opportunités offertes par le grand projet de la 3ème correction du Rhône (R3) pour repenser l'aménagement paysager des berges du fleuve et disposer d'une vision globale, d'un fil rouge, dans ce sens.

Le projet de 3ème correction du Rhône prévoit de réaménager les berges et leurs connexions, sur tout le linéaire du fleuve de Gletsch au Léman. Il offre aux maîtres d'ouvrage (MOA) l'opportunité de mettre à disposition de la population le plus grand espace public de tout le canton du Valais et un espace public intercantonal dans le Chablais, en y apportant de la qualité, de façon cohérente et coordonnée, afin de le mettre à disposition de la population. L'Office Cantonal de la Construction du Rhône OCCR3, a lancé en 2019 un concours international en urbanisme pour l'aménagement du Rhône (procédure de MEP – Mandat d'Etudes Parallèles - réunissant plusieurs cabinets d'architectes paysagistes et d'urbanistes et, parmi ceux-là, un consortium dirigé par l'Agence Base dirigée par Bertrand Vignal, chargé de cours à la FGSE, et composé de plusieurs bureaux d'études, dont Topos Urbanisme (dirigé par Michèle Tranda-Pittion, chargée de cours à la FGSE) ; Emmanuel Reynard, Professeur à l'IGD et Président de l'association « Mémoires du Rhône » a officié en tant qu'expert dans ce projet. Le projet Rhônatureparc, proposé par le consortium dirigé par l'Agence Base a mis particulièrement l'accent sur les relations géographiques entre le Rhône, la plaine et les coteaux et vallées et sur la possibilité d'utiliser le projet d'aménagement des espaces publics en lien avec la Troisième correction du Rhône, pour anticiper l'adaptation de la plaine aux changements climatiques en cours.
Le projet nous offre l'occasion d'y déployer un projet de recherche-action inédit pour penser le sujet de l'acclimatation dans une perspective de réchauffement climatique. Le changement de paradigme pour l'aménagement et le ménagement du Rhône est notoire : les deux précédentes corrections portaient le dessein d'être sécuritaires et économiques ; en plus de ces aspects, le projet retenu de « Rhônaturepark » pour la prochaine correction devra être écologique, co-construit et surtout résilient.

Quatre axes thématiques structurent ce projet :

1 - Les ressources de nature(s). Analyse et modélisation des natures présentes in situ (eau, air, sol, végétation et vivant) - analyses spatiales qualitatives et quantitatives

2 - Analyse du processus de projet

3 - Landscape urbanism : optimisation morphologique des formes environnementales

4 - Co-conception collaborative et modes opératoires

Collaborateurs de recherche :

  • Bertrand Vignal, co-directeur de l'Agence BASE - chargé de cours en atelier de projet à l'UNIL
  • Michèle Tranda-Pittion, topos urbanisme, chargée de cours en atelier de projet à l'UNIL
  • N.N. collaborateur/trice scientifique

Partenaire du projet de recherche-action : Agence BASE



3ème correction du Rhône