IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Microlandscapes in Western Lausanne

Research fields Urban studies
Environmental humanities
Margins, environment, landscapes
Keywords Nature in the city; plant-based urbanism; microlandscape; ecosystem services
Funding SDOL - Schéma directeur de l'Ouest Lausannois
Duration January 2020 - January 2021
Website
Researchers Da Cunha Antonio (Project co-applicant) [web] [email]
Delabarre Muriel (Project co-applicant) [web] [email]
Fernandes Ricardo (Scientific collaborator)
Nasilli Serge (Scientific collaborator)

The West Lausanne region is a territory in transformation. The eight municipalities of Western Lausanne are working together with numerous partners to meet the challenges of regional development. They are coordinating their efforts to offer their 70,000 inhabitants quality urban spaces, pleasant places to live, a strong identity and enhanced landscapes. In order to accompany the transformations underway and to ensure concerted action, they have created a structure (SDOL) to support multiple projects. It is this vision of a concerted reorganization of the territory that "Swiss Heritage" has rewarded with the 2011 Wakker Prize, by saluting the common will to reinforce the "spirit of the neighborhood" in a region that, a priori, hardly projects an image of identity.

The result of a collaboration that began in 2013, the Intercommunal Master Plan for Western Lausanne (Pdi-OL) is a territorial project that sets out the major orientations for future development: meeting the challenges of demographic growth, maintaining a prime location for businesses, identifying and connecting central areas, encouraging soft and multimodal mobility, and also improving the quality of the environment and preserving green spaces and recreational areas. The efforts made by the eight municipalities are not limited to large emblematic projects. A multitude of small, less visible initiatives are part of the same movement. Here a small square, further on a garden, elsewhere a bicycle path, etc. The possible improvements are immense and add to the overall urban quality. The habit of exchanging, informing and consulting widely within the framework of large projects as well as in the most modest actions constitutes a value in itself that contributes to the efficiency of collective action.


Created in 2017 in this general context, the Association "Ouest lausannois : Prix Wakker 2011" has set itself the goal of promoting inter-communal approaches that foster territorial development in the spirit of the values saluted by the award received in 2011. As such, it encourages and supports actions that have the following objectives: to preserve the built and natural heritage; to encourage the quality of future heritage; to promote local travel (soft mobility); to encourage the development of a regional identity; and to raise awareness among the inhabitants of the major challenges of regional development.


In this perspective, this project focuses on the role of plants as a tool for qualifying the territory in a context of strong urbanization. In line with the main orientations of the Intercommunal Master Plan, the "Microlandscapes" project proposes the realization of a joint action aiming to enhance neglected spaces, residual spaces, or places that can be the object of small interventions of requalification for the use of the inhabitants. Organized in agreement with the elected officials and the municipal services competent in the matter, the project initiated by the West Lausanne Association - Wakker Prize aims more precisely at :

  • Strengthen the presence of vegetation and the ecosystem services it offers in the communes of the West Lausanne region;
  • Participate in the implementation of a green network through an acupunctural vegetal urbanism: make accessible and appropriable abandoned places, requalify existing green spaces, renaturalize the city by small steps, conceivable and controllable in the short term, etc.;
  • Involve the population, the associations but also the owners in a participative approach aiming at the vegetation, the equipment and the embellishment of the open spaces; act in the eight communes at the same time in an inclusive way;
  • Involve the municipal park and promenade/roads departments in order to enhance their know-how and encourage new practices;
  • Valorize the actions of the communes of Western Lausanne in terms of green urbanism and the requalification of public spaces.



Development of microlandscapes in Western Lausanne_site de Chavannes

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Micropaysages dans l'Ouest Lausannois

Domaines de recherche Études urbaines
Mot-clefs Nature en ville ; urbanisme végétal ; micropaysage ; services écosystémiques
Financement SDOL - Schéma directeur de l'Ouest Lausannois
Durée Janvier 2020 >
Site Web
Chercheuses / Chercheurs Da Cunha Antonio (---) [web] [email]
Delabarre Muriel (---) [web] [email]

  • En collaboration avec le bureau suisse romand ACTEON

L'Ouest lausannois est un territoire en mutation. Les huit communes de l'Ouest lausannois travaillent ensemble avec de nombreux partenaires pour relever les défis de l'aménagement du territoire. Elles coordonnent leurs efforts pour offrir à leurs 70'000 habitants des espaces urbains de qualité, des lieux agréables à vivre, une identité forte et des paysages valorisés. Afin d'accompagner les transformations en cours et assurer une action concertée elles se sont données une structure de portage (SDOL) de multiples projets. C'est cette vision d'une réorganisation concertée du territoire que « Patrimoine suisse » a récompensé avec le Prix Wakker 2011, en saluant la volonté commune de renforcer l'« esprit de quartier » dans une région qui a priori ne projette guère une image identitaire.

Résultat d'une collaboration amorcée en 2013 le Plan Directeur intercommunal de l'Ouest lausannois (Pdi-OL) est un projet de territoire fixant les grandes orientations du développement futur : répondre aux défis de la croissance démographique, garder une place de choix pour les entreprises, identifier et connecter les centralités, encourager la mobilité douce et multimodale, mais aussi améliorer la qualité de l'environnement et préserver les espaces verts et de détente. L'effort mené par les huit communes ne se résume pas dans les grands projets emblématiques. Une multitude de petites initiatives, moins visibles, participent du même mouvement. Ici une petite place, plus loin un jardin, ailleurs une piste cyclable, etc. Les améliorations possibles sont immenses et s'ajoutent à la qualité urbaine d'ensemble. L'habitude d'échanger, d'informer et de consulter largement dans le cadre des grands projets comme dans les plus modestes actions constitue une valeur en soi qui concourt à l'efficience de l'action collective.

Créée en 2017 dans ce contexte général, l'Association «Ouest lausannois : Prix Wakker 2011» s'est donnée pour but de promouvoir les démarches intercommunales qui favorisent un développement territorial dans l'esprit des valeurs saluées par la distinction reçue en 2011. A ce titre, elle encourage et soutient notamment les actions ayant comme objectifs de :préserver le patrimoine bâti et naturel ; favoriser la qualité du patrimoine futur ; promouvoir les déplacements de proximité (de mobilité douce) ; favoriser le développement d'une identité régionale, sensibiliser les habitants aux grands enjeux de l'aménagement du territoire.

Dans cette perspective, ce projet s'intéresse au rôle du végétal comme outil de qualification du territoire dans un contexte de forte urbanisation. S'inscrivant dans les grandes orientations du Plan Directeur intercommunal, le projet « Micropaysages » propose la réalisation d'une action conjointe visant à valoriser des espaces délaissés, des espaces résiduels, ou des lieux pouvant faire l'objet de petites interventions de requalification à l'usage des habitants. Organisé d'entente avec les élus et les services communaux compétents en la matière, le projet initié par l'Association de l'Ouest lausannois- Prix Wakker vise plus exactement à :

  • Renforcer la présence du végétal et des services écosystémiques qu'il offre dans les communes de l 'Ouest lausannois ;
  • Participer à la mise en place d'un maillage vert par un urbanisme végétal acupuncteur : rendre accessibles et appropriables des lieux délaissés et abandonnés, requalifier des espaces verts existants, renaturer la ville par de petits pas, concevables et maîtrisables à court terme, etc.;
  • Impliquer la population, les associations mais aussi les propriétaires dans une démarche participative visant la végétalisation, l'équipement et l'embellissement des espaces ouverts ; agir dans les huit communes en même temps de manière inclusive ;
  • Impliquer les services communaux des parcs et promenades/voirie afin de valoriser leurs savoir-faire et favoriser de nouvelles pratiques ;
  • Valoriser l'action des communes de l'Ouest lausannois en matière d'urbanisme végétal et de requalification des espaces publics.