Valérian Geffroy
Doctoral fellow
At IGD until 2020

Engaging and bonding spatialities: outdoor sport tourism and its communities of practice

Contemporary leisure trends include the practices of people who regularly travel away from their daily spaces to engage in outdoor sport, in places they perceive as worth travelling to. This thesis' central object, outdoor sport tourism, highlights several important issues in contemporary studies of mobilities and geography: the general increase of mobility, the social and cultural value of mobility, the hybridisation of leisure and other domains of life, the investment of non-urban, "nature" spaces, with leisure practices and imaginaries.

More precisely, this work is focused on outdoor sport tourism spatialities, i.e. on the various ways of acting with space and considering space within the practice of outdoor sport tourism. This work investigates these spatialities through two main questions: the question of the role of space in social bonding, and the question of spatialities as an object of enjoyment.

This project is situated in an interpretative as well as materialist epistemology of geography, in great partsinspired by theories of practice: these theories form a corpus of research that re-centers the analysis on action, on the body, and on common understandings of the world. These theories offer a contextualising synthesis of ideas and matter, and of the individual and the collective. They are applied in this thesis through two central concepts: the concept of communities of practice, which designates the groups formed by the sharing of schemes of action and understanding; and the concept of engagement, which allows to grasp the coordination between a project of action and the environment in which it is conducted.

This work is empirically grounded in qualitative fieldwork research with people identified as travelling for outdoor sports. Three sports were chosen for their potential to induce travel: paragliding, whitewater kayaking and sport rock climbing. 76 semi-structured interviews were conducted with 110 people in five highly attractive places for these practices: Kalymnos in Greece, the Verdon Gorge, Annecy, Saint-André-les-Alpes and Haute-Durance, in France. In addition, a corpus of participants' photographies wasproduced, which gives an overview of individual enjoyment of the sport tourism experience through images.

The analysis identifies and exploresfour essential aspects of outdoor sport tourism spatialities. (1) Common spaces of outdoor sport tourism are built through people's movements, and physical and symbolic appropriations of places. Altogether this amounts to an affinity-led globalisation, made of transnational network-spaces and of highly specialised local centralities. (2) The processing of geographical information, which is an essential part of these sport practices, rests on expert knowledge of the terrain. This knowledge is expressed throughgeographical jargons, whose sharing within the communitiesbenefits today from the new potentialities offered by digital mediation and collaborative online platforms. (3) On a sensory and bodily level, the appeal for outdoor sport tourism is based ona specific experience of the environment which I refer to asimmersion-action. This experience is a reflexive spatiality, which consists inan intimate relationship with the biophysical environment as a set of affordances, and which isa major constituentof the ludic-aesthetic conception of nature. (4) The spatio-temporal individual commitments to outdoor sport tourism are distributed on a continuumfrom tourism tolifestyle mobility.In the latter case leisure mobility reaches the status of an existential project; this case remains rare in comparison with touristic forms of practice, but it reveals a tendency to strong engagements in practices presented as a source of deep satisfaction.

This work contributes to practice theories mainly with the proposition to fully integrate leisure to a theory of engagement, i.e. a theory of coordination between the self, the biophysical world and the social world. In the field of geography, it brings an in-depth exploration of a coherent set of ludic and affective spatialities, of spatialities bearing the power to build individual projects and communities.

{FIRSTNAME LASTNAME}
Valérian Geffroy
Doctorant
À l'IGD jusqu'en 2020

Des spatialités qui engagent et qui lient : le tourisme sportif de nature et ses communautés de pratique

Parmi les développements contemporains des loisirs, on peut observer des personnes qui, régulièrement, voyagent hors de leurs espaces quotidiens pour aller pratiquer des sports de nature, dans des lieux qui les attirent. Ce tourisme sportif de nature, objet central de la thèse, s'inscrit dans une série d'enjeux actuels importants pour l'étude des mobilités et pour la géographie : l'accroissement général des mobilités, leur forte valorisation sociale et culturelle, l'hybridation des loisirs avec les différents domaines de la vie, le fort investissement des espaces non urbains, dits « de nature », par les pratiques et les imaginaires de loisir.

Ce travail porte sur les spatialités du tourisme sportif de nature, c'est-à-dire sur les différentes manières d'agir avec l'espace et de le considérer au sein de cette pratique. Il les interroge autour de deux questions principales : celledu rôle de l'espace dans la construction des liens sociaux, et celle des spatialités comme objet d'appréciation.

Le projet s'inscrit dans une géographie à la fois interprétative et matérialiste, puisant largement dans les théories de la pratique ; celles-ci forment un ensemble théorique recentré sur l'action, sur le corps, et sur les modes communs de connaissance du monde, et proposent une synthèse contextualisante de l'idéel et du matériel, de l'individuel et du collectif. Ces options théoriques se traduisent dans deux concepts centraux : celui de communautés de pratique, qui désigne les collectifs formés par le partage de schémas d'action et de compréhension ; et celui d'engagement, qui permet de saisir la coordination entre un projet d'action et l'environnement dans lequel il se déroule.

Le travail est fondé sur des enquêtes qualitatives auprès de personnes voyageant pour trois sports de nature : le parapente, le kayak de rivière et l'escalade sportive. Les entretiens semi-directifs, au nombre de 76, avec 110 personnes, ont été menés dans cinq hauts lieux de ces différentes pratiques : Kalymnos, en Grèce, le Verdon, Annecy, Saint-André-les-Alpes et la Haute-Durance, en France. Parmi les matériaux qui complètent l'étude, le principal est un corpus de photographies de pratiquant.e.s, donnant un aperçu de la valorisation personnelle par l'image de l'expérience touristico-sportive.

L'analyse mène à l'identification et l'exploration de quatre dimensions essentielles des spatialités touristico-sportives. (1) Les espaces communs de cette pratique, construits par les circulations des personnes et les appropriations symboliques et physiques des lieux, dessinent une mondialisation affinitaire, faite d'espaces transnationaux et réticulaires et de centralités locales très spécialisées. (2) Le traitement de l'information géographique, essentielle pour ces pratiques sportives, emploie des savoirs experts du terrain, des jargons géographiques, qui trouvent aujourd'hui dans la médiation numérique, par des plates-formes collaboratives en ligne en particulier, des potentialités renouvelées de partage au sein de la communauté. (3) Sur le plan corporel et sensible, la pratique touristico-sportive de nature fonde son attrait dans une expérience de l'environnement que je qualifie d'immersion-action ; il s'agit d'une spatialité réflexive, qui déploie une relation intime avec l'environnement biophysique comme un ensemble de prises,et qui constitue un fondement important de la conception esthético-ludique de la nature. (4) Les investissements spatio-temporels individuels dans le tourisme sportif de nature s'échelonnent sur un gradient entre tourisme et mobilité-mode de vie. Ce dernier cas, où la pratique de mobilité de loisir confine au projet existentiel, reste minoritaire par rapport aux modalités touristiques de la pratique, mais témoigne d'une tendance à l'engagement fort dans ces pratiques, sources de satisfactions profondes et durables.

Ce travail contribue aux théories de la pratique principalement par la proposition d'intégrer pleinement le loisir à une théorie de l'engagement, c'est-à-dire de la coordination entre soi, le monde biophysique et le monde social. Il apporte à la géographie une exploration approfondie d'un ensemble cohérent de spatialités aux multiples dimensions – sensibles, matérielles, affectives –et montre comment ces spatialités se font constitutives de projets individuels et de communautés.