IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Towards a “fluid” governance: hydrosocial analysis of flood paradigms and management practices in Rhone and Ganges basins (India, France and Switzerland)

Research fields Development, societies, environments
Keywords Political ecology
Governance
Floods
Sediments
Hazardscape
Cultures of water
Environmental history
Hydro-social cycle
Mesopolitic
Funding SNF project EqUIP
Duration Mai 2019 - December 2021
Website
Researchers Metzger Alexis (Senior researcher SNF) [web] [email]
Reynard Emmanuel (Full Professor) [web] [email]
Véron René (Full Professor) [web] [email]

Floods are land-use- and climate-related hazards posing important environmental, social and economic challenges. They cause physical damage, economic loss, psychological stress and human casualties. Government authorities have responded to flood hazards through flood management measures, such as the construction of embankments or the restoration of floodplains. However, physical flood-control interventions modify the spatial and temporal distribution of water flows and sedimentation often creating new sets of hazards that can lead to tensions between local communities and government authorities. As a consequence, floods, their management and underlying paradigms are linked to equity issues and they are imbued with politics.

This research seeks to explore how flood-management approaches reshape hazards, vulnerabilities and community responses – and, in turn, how these influence governance practices. To address these questions, the study applies a hydro-social analysis that emphasizes that water cycles and floods are co-determined by sociopolitical processes and physical dynamics. The hydro-social analysis is furthermore combined with environmental history to also consider long-term structural trajectories of flood governance. Thereby, the international and interdisciplinary research team can draw upon the disciplines of geography, political science, history and social anthropology.

Empirical investigations will be conducted in the Rhone floodplains (between Sion and Martigny in Switzerland and between Avignon and Arles in France) as well as in the Ganges delta (i.e. the Sundarbans south of Kolkata). These riverscapes encapsulate a rich history of floods and how these had been perceived during different historical periods, and dealt with relying on varied technologies and governance systems. Empirical research will cover both the contemporary situation and that of the early modern times (17th-19th century). Doing so, this study will contribute to the debates on flood-risk governance that have become more relevant in view of climate change. Finally, together with local stakeholders and based on the research findings from different sites and periods, the project will reflect on the potential of a more 'fluid' governance to better deal with uncertainty and complex socio-ecological processes around water flows, sediments, agricultural production and populations.

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Vers une gouvernance fluide : analyse hydrosociale des paradigmes et des pratiques de gestion de l'inondation du Rhône et du Gange (Inde, France, Suisse)

Domaines de recherche Développement, sociétés, environnements
Mot-clefs Political ecology
Gouvernance
Inondations
Sédiments
Territoire du risque
Cultures de l'eau
Histoire environnementale
Cycle hydro-social
Mésopolitique
Financement FNS projet EqUIP
Durée Mai 2019 - décembre 2021
Site Web
Chercheurs Metzger Alexis (Chercheur senior FNS)
Reynard Emmanuel (Professeur ordinaire)
Véron René (Professeur ordinaire)

Le risque inondation, lié aux changements d'usage des sols et aux changements climatiques, représente un enjeu environnemental, social et économique majeur. Les inondations provoquent des dégâts matériels, des pertes économiques, du stress psychologique voire même parfois des victimes humaines. Les autorités gouvernementales ont réagi aux risques inondation par des mesures de protection et de lutte contre le risque, comme la construction de digues ou la restauration de plaines d'inondation. Mais les aménagements physiques visant à maîtriser le risque modifient la répartition spatiale et temporelle des écoulements d'eau et de la dynamique sédimentaire. Ainsi, ces mesures risquent de générer de nouveaux types d'aléas et de provoquer des tensions entre les communautés locales et les autorités. Par conséquent, les inondations, leur gestion et les paradigmes sous-jacents, sont liées à des questions de justice et représentent un enjeu politique.

Cette recherche vise à mieux comprendre comment la gestion des inondations influence l'aléa, la vulnérabilité, ainsi que les réactions des communautés et comment, en retour, ces derniers ont un effet sur la gouvernance des inondations. En abordant ces questions, cette étude s'appuie sur une analyse hydro-sociale soulignant la codétermination des processus sociopolitiques et des dynamiques physiques. Par ailleurs, l'analyse hydro-sociale est combinée avec l'histoire environnementale afin de prendre en compte les trajectoires structurelles et de longue durée de la gouvernance des inondations. Dans cette démarche, l'équipe de recherche internationale et interdisciplinaire peut s'appuyer sur la géographie, les sciences politiques, l'histoire et l'anthropologie sociale.

Les terrains de cette recherche se situent dans le bassin du Rhône (entre Sion et Martigny en Suisse et entre Avignon et Arles en France) ainsi que dans le delta du Gange (plus précisément dans les Sundarbans au sud de Calcutta). Ces paysages fluviaux sont porteurs d'une histoire d'inondations fréquentes. Ils offrent un terrain propice à l'analyse de la perception des inondations sur différentes périodes historiques ainsi que des réponses apportées à ce risque, s'appuyant sur diverses technologies et sur des modes variés de gouvernance. Le travail empirique couvre la période contemporaine ainsi que celle de l'époque moderne du 17e au 19e siècle. Ainsi, cette recherche contribue aux débats sur la gouvernance des risques d'inondations qui ont gagné en pertinence au vu des changements climatiques. En collaboration avec des acteurs locaux et sur la base de résultats de recherche émanant de divers terrains et périodes, le projet explore enfin la possibilité d'une gouvernance plus « fluide » afin de pouvoir mieux faire face à l'incertitude et aux processus socio-écologiques complexes qui mêlent les écoulements d'eau, les sédiments, l'agriculture et les habitants.