IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Closing the food-waste-farming cycle: Composting and urban agriculture in Cameroon and Switzerland

Research fields Political ecologies
Keywords Urban agriculture
Waste management
Consumption practices
Mitigation of climate change
Funding Swiss Network for International Studies (SNIS)
Duration January 2020 - Juin 2022
Website https://snis.ch/project/closing-the-food-waste-farming-cycle-composting-and-urban-agriculture-in-cameroon-and-switzerland/
Researchers Makamte Rolande (Scientific collaborator) [web] [email]
Véron René (Project coordinator) [web] [email]

This research aims to analyse the barriers and opportunities for compost- based urban farming and gardening in four cities of Cameroon and Switzerland as to develop policy recommendations for localizing and closing the food-waste-farming cycle in different contexts for the climate change mitigation.

The promotion of composting for urban agriculture has great potential to mitigate global climate change without the need for multilateral cooperation: composting reduces the uncontrolled decomposition of organic wastes that contributes to green-house-gas emissions; compost use in agriculture helps sequester carbon from the atmosphere; and urban agriculture shortens food chains, reduces transportation needs and contributes to food security.

Using urban political ecology as its overarching analytical framework, the proposed interdisciplinary research considers actors, social practices and relationships, institutions and materialities along the entire food-waste-farming chain starting from food consumption and waste production, waste management and composting to compost use in urban farming, and it assesses compost-induced improvements of local soils.

Furthermore, the project seeks to engage with key stakeholders in both countries, including urban farmers, planners and policymakers, and to facilitate knowledge exchange across geographical contexts. Through comparative research and stakeholder workshops, the project aims to inform policy and urban planning in the research sites and beyond.

Apart from the academic dissemination of research findings through publications, the proposed project seeks to reach larger audiences through collaboration with local, national and social media, as well as locally elected policymakers through association with an international network of francophone mayors.

The members of the interdisciplinary team have extensive experience in the study of sustainable consumption, food wastes, waste management, urban planning and agricultural soils in various geographical contexts, including Cameroon and Switzerland.



Sorting household waste on table at the composting platform in Dschang

Mixed waste in a municipal food waste bin in Lausanne

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Boucler le cycle entre consommation, déchets et production agricole: Compostage et agriculture urbaine au Cameroun et en Suisse

Domaines de recherche Développement, sociétés, environnements
Mot-clefs Gestion des déchets
Agriculture urbaine
Pratiques de consommation
Atténuation des changements climatiques
Financement Swiss Network for International Studies (SNIS)/Réseau suisse pour les études internationales (RéSEI)
Durée Janvier 2020 - décembre 2021
Site Web https://snis.ch/project/closing-the-food-waste-farming-cycle-composting-and-urban-agriculture-in-cameroon-and-switzerland/
Chercheurs Makamte Rolande (Chercheure sénior) [web] [email]
Véron René (Coordinateur) [web] [email]

Ce projet de recherche a pour but d'examiner les opportunités et les obstacles socio-techno-institutionnels pour une agriculture urbaine sur la base de compost à Dschang et à Lausanne afin d'atténuer le changement climatique. Elle vise une élaboration des recommandations politiques pour localiser et clôturer le cycle consommation, déchets et production agricole dans différents contextes.

En effet, la promotion du compostage pour l'agriculture urbaine a un grand potentiel pour atténuer le changement climatique mondial sans recours à une coopération multilatérale: le compostage réduit la décomposition incontrôlée des déchets organiques qui contribue aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre; l'utilisation du compost en agriculture aide à séquestrer le carbone de l'atmosphère; et l'agriculture urbaine raccourcit les chaînes alimentaires, réduit les besoins de transport et contribue à la sécurité alimentaire.

En utilisant la Urban Political Ecology comme cadre analytique, cette recherche interdisciplinaire considère les acteurs, les pratiques et les relations sociales, les institutions et les matérialités tout au long de la chaîne aliment-déchet-agriculture urbaine à partir de la consommation alimentaire et la production de déchets, la gestion des déchets et le compostage à l'utilisation du compost dans l'agriculture urbaine, et aux améliorations induites par le compost des sols locaux.

En outre, ce projet cherche à dialoguer avec les principales parties prenantes des deux pays, y compris les agriculteurs urbains, les planificateurs et les décideurs, et à faciliter l'échange de connaissances entre les contextes géographiques. Portée vers une démarche comparative et à travers des ateliers engageant des parties prenantes, le projet vise à éclairer les politiques et l'urbanisme dans les sites de recherche et au-delà.

Outre la diffusion académique des résultats de la recherche par le biais de publications, le projet proposé vise à atteindre un public plus large en collaborant avec les médias locaux, nationaux et sociaux, ainsi qu'avec les décideurs élus localement en s'associant à un réseau international de maires francophones.

L'équipe pluridisciplinaire du projet est constituée de membres venant de divers domaines d'étude tels que la consommation durable, la gestion des déchets, l'urbanisme, l'analyse des sols, l'agriculture urbaine ; et de divers contextes géographiques dont le Cameroun et la Suisse.