IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Overtourism? Les villes comptent

Research fields Urban studies
Cultures and natures of tourism
Keywords Tourism
Overtourism
Quantification
Statistics
Big data
Funding Lead Agency (FNS)
Duration September 2021 - August 2025
Website https://wp.unil.ch/overtourism/en/
Researchers Anduze Victor (Doctoral student)
Bardet Fabrice (Project co-applicant)
Ceccato Davide (Doctoral student)
Cussó Roser (Scientific collaborator)
Favero Giovanni (Scientific collaborator)
Geffroy Valérian (Scientific collaborator) [web] [email]
Stock Mathis (Principal Investigator) [web] [email]

In the current debate about overtourism in European cities, a controversy which could be further fueled by the role of human mobility in the Covid-19 crisis, the question how much is central. This controversy arises with the emergence, from 2015, of criticisms, resistances and protests against tourism among the inhabitants of several heavily touristic European cities, opposing the arguments and decisions of those who view tourism as beneficial or even necessary, especially for the economy, and support its promotion and reinforcement. In this debate, the statistical argument is frequently put forward. However, both sides struggle to match the political argument and the statistical argument, as the growth and hybridization of mobilities complicate the reading of tourism figures. Simultaneously, new statistical apparatuses emerge, with big data, digital footprints and cellphone tracking, creating new players and new services in the quantification domain. The Covid-19 crisis, where tourism is temporarily stopped, and where its benefits as well as its nuisances become spectacularly visible through their disappearance, is a particularly suitable moment to study the use of the statistical argument in the overtourism debate.

Aims
1. Observe the ways the statistical argument is used by cities and their citizens when addressing tourism, be it in arguing against overtourism or in favour of tourism and its development.
2. Test the hypothesis of the rise of new forms of touristic governance of cities (« smart cities » e.g.) related to the development of big data.

To do so, we study, on the one hand, the production of the statistical figures mobilized in controversies in four European cities, and on the other hand, the political uses of the statistical argument (for tourism growth? for the limitation or even degrowth of tourism? against mass tourism? against certain types of tourism? as an electoral argument?). As a byproduct, the project will provide an original mapping of tourism statistics sources, useful for the knowledge of the phenomenon and which could inspire producers and users of these figures.

Theory and disciplinary approach
From a theoretical point of view, two disciplines are put to work: the sociology of quantification, which studies the conventions and practices of turning social phenomena in numbers (“mise en nombre") and their political dimension in a constructivist epistemology (Desrosières, 2014); geography, which constructs touristic cites as an object of study, but also studies overtourism through the lens of the territorial relevance of quantification (neighbourhood, scale, area, etc.).

Case studies
- European cities: Venice, Lucerne, Paris, Lyon
- National statistics apparatuses: Italy, Switzerland, France
- International organizations: UNWTO, OECD, Eurostat, World Bank, WTTC, ETC, etc.



Crowd of tourists

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Overtourism? Les villes comptent

Domaines de recherche Mondes urbains
Cultures et natures du tourisme
Mot-clefs Tourisme
Overtourism
Quantification
Big data
Statistiques
Financement Lead Agency (FNS)
Durée Septembre 2021 - août 2025
Site Web https://wp.unil.ch/overtourism
Chercheuses / Chercheurs Anduze Victor (Doctorant·e)
Bardet Fabrice (Co-requérant·e du projet)
Ceccato Davide (Doctorant·e)
Cussó Roser (Collaborateur·trice scientifique)
Favero Giovanni (Collaborateur·trice scientifique)
Geffroy Valérian (Collaborateur·trice scientifique) [web] [email]
Stock Mathis (Principal·e requérant·e du projet) [web] [email]

Dans le contexte actuel de la controverse du overtourism dans les villes européennes, polémique qui pourrait être exacerbée par le rôle de la mobilité humaine dans la crise sanitaire du Covid-19, l'argument du nombre est central. Cette controverse éclate avec l'émergence, à partir de 2015, de critiques, revendications et résistances des habitant·es de certaines villes européennes fortement touristiques à l'encontre du tourisme, s'opposant aux arguments et décisions de celles et ceux qui pensent que le tourisme est positif, voire nécessaire, notamment pour l'économie, devant être ouvertement renforcé et promu. Dans cette controverse, l'argument statistique est souvent mis en avant. Or, il se heurte à une certaine incapacité, dans les deux camps, de faire coïncider argument politique et argument statistique, dans un contexte où l'accroissement et l'hybridation des mobilités complexifient la lecture des chiffres du tourisme. Dans le même temps, de nouveaux dispositifs statistiques émergent, avec les données massives (big data) et les traces numériques ou téléphoniques, créant de nouveaux acteurs et de nouveaux services de la quantification. Avec la crise du Covid-19 où le tourisme se trouve momentanément arrêté, et où ses bénéfices comme ses nuisances se trouvent spectaculairement illustrées par leur disparition, on dispose d'un moment particulièrement propice pour étudier la manière dont l'argument statistique est utilisé pour débattre sur le overtourism.

Objectifs
1. Observer la manière dont l'argument statistique autour du tourisme est utilisé par les villes et par leurs citoyen·nes, que ce soit contre le overtourism ou en faveur du tourisme et de son développement.
2. Éprouver l'hypothèse de l'avènement de nouvelles formes de gouvernance touristique des villes (« smart cities » ou autres) lié au développement des big data.

Pour ce faire, nous étudions d'une part la production des chiffres mobilisés dans les controverses actuelles dans quatre villes européennes et, d'autre part, les usages politiques de l'argument statistique (pour la croissance du tourisme ? pour sa limitation voire sa décroissance ? contre le tourisme de masse ? contre certaines formes de tourisme ? comme levier électoral ?). Parmi les produits de ce travail, on aboutira à un inventaire inédit des sources de la production statistique sur le tourisme, utile à la connaissance du phénomène et qui pourra inspirer productrice·eurs et utilisatrice·eurs de ces chiffres.

Approche théorique et disciplinaire
Du point de vue théorique, deux disciplines sont convoquées : d'une part, la sociologie de la quantification qui étudie les conventions et pratiques de « mise en nombre » dans une épistémologie constructiviste et leurs dimensions politiques (Desrosières, 2014) ; d'autre part, la géographie qui construit les villes touristiques comme objet scientifique mais qui étudie aussi les controverses autour du overtourism à travers l'entrée spécifique de la pertinence territoriale de la quantification (quartier, échelle, extension, etc.).

Études de cas
- Villes européennes : Venise, Lucerne, Paris, Lyon
- Dispositifs statistiques nationaux : Italie, Suisse, France
- Organisations internationales : OMT, OCDE, Eurostat, Banque Mondiale, WTTC, ETC, etc.



Foule de touristes