IGD

Institute of Geography and Sustainability of the University of Lausanne
Research projects


Search again


Secondary residences: practices of residents and strategies of destinations in Valais

Research fields Cultures and natures of tourism
Keywords Spatial development
Secondary homes ; territorial development ; Covid-19 ; tourist destinations ; mountains
-
-
-
Funding
Duration Mai 2021 >
Website
Researchers Clivaz Christophe (Project coordinator) [web] [email]
Gros-Balthazard Marjolaine (Project coordinator) [web] [email]
Kebir Leïla (Project coordinator) [web] [email]
Laurenti Eliana (Research Advisory)

As an integral part of the tourism and residential system, second homes directly question the future of Alpine territories, which are challenged by climate change. These second homes are at the heart of many tensions. Cold beds, rising land prices, financing of urban infrastructure, urban sprawl, low expected income, capture of wealth by a few, are all phenomena that crystallise tensions. The 2012 vote in Switzerland to limit the number of secondary residences per municipality (Clivaz, 2013; Schuler & Dessemontet, 2013) or the increase in the amount of tourist taxes in many Valaisan municipalities are examples of this.

Since March 2020, the Covid-19 crisis has served as a reminder that this form of poly-topic living (Stock, 2006) is at the heart of territorial development issues. While international tourists are becoming rare, secondary residents seem to play a crucial role for tourist destinations.

In this context, this project aims at questioning the advent of a turn towards a sustainable warming of cold beds, by taking the example of two Valaisan destinations. We wish to understand both the way in which Covid-19 has modified the tourist and living practices of secondary residents (time and period of occupation, activities practised, etc.) and the way in which destinations (re)think their strategies to maximise the occupation of these secondary residences or to increase their impact on the local economy.



Village of Chandolin (Val d'Anniviers)

IGD

Institut de géographie et durabilité de l'Université de Lausanne
Projets de recherche


Nouvelle recherche


Résidences secondaires : pratiques des résidents et stratégies des destinations en Valais

Domaines de recherche Cultures et natures du tourisme
Mot-clefs Montagnes
Résidences secondaires
Covid-19
Destinations touristiques
Développement territorial
Financement
Durée Mai 2021 >
Site Web
Chercheuses / Chercheurs Clivaz Christophe (Coordinateur·trice du projet)
Gros-Balthazard Marjolaine (Coordinateur·trice du projet)
Kebir Leïla (Coordinateur·trice du projet)
Laurenti Eliana (Soutien à la recherche)

Partie intégrante du système touristique et de la résidentialité, les résidences secondaires interrogent directement l'avenir des territoires alpins, mis au défi des changements climatiques. Ces résidences secondaires sont au cœur de nombreuses tensions. Lits froids, augmentation des prix du foncier, financement des infrastructures urbaines, étalement urbain, faiblesse des revenus induits attendus, captation des richesses par un petit nombre, sont autant de phénomènes qui cristallisent les tensions. En témoignent la votation de 2012 en Suisse visant à limiter le nombre de résidences secondaires par commune (Clivaz, 2013 ; Schuler & Dessemontet, 2013) ou encore l'accroissement du montant des taxes de séjour dans nombre de communes valaisannes.

Depuis mars 2020, la crise du Covid-19 vient rappeler que cette forme d'habiter poly-topique (Stock, 2006) est au cœur d'enjeux de développement territorial. Alors que les touristes internationaux se font rares, les résidents secondaires semblent en effet jouer un rôle crucial pour les destinations touristiques.

Dans ce contexte, ce projet vise à interroger l'avènement d'un tournant vers un réchauffement durable des lits froids, en prenant l'exemple de deux destinations valaisannes. Nous souhaitons comprendre à la fois la façon dont le Covid-19 a modifié les pratiques touristiques et d'habiter des résidents secondaires (temps et période d'occupation, activités pratiquées, etc.) et la façon dont les destinations, (re)pensent leurs stratégies pour maximiser l'occupation de ces résidences secondaires ou pour augmenter leurs retombées sur l'économie locale.



Village de Chandolin (Val d'Anniviers)