Gretchen Walters
Assistant professor

University of Lausanne
Institute of geography and sustainability
Mouline - Géopolis 3612
CH-1015 Lausanne
 
 
 
Phone +41 21 692 3072
gretchen.walters@unil.ch

Landscapes & Societies Group

Landscapes are dynamic places, bearing the marks of the past through present day societal interactions and readable through its vegetation, animal and other components. In a given place, whether it be a Swiss alpine pasture or Central African savanna plateaux, the extent and nature of these places is heavily influenced by past practices. These past practices can also directly influence how institutions relate to each other today.

On the one hand, our group studies how societies and cultures shape landscapes over time through cultural practices, such as hunting and agriculture. To interpret these landscapes, we use a historical ecology approach through ethnographic, ethnobotanical, and archival research methods. We also collaborate with ecologists to bring historical perspectives to their plot work.

On the other hand, our group studies the practices of societies and conservation organisations to conserve, restore and protect these landscapes today.This includes community actions to protect their lands, to nature conservation and restoration projects (including protected areas) by governments and international organisations. We use conservation ethnography, interviews, and political ecology approaches to understand the interactions of stakeholders from the field to international fora.

We directly engage with community and conservation organisations, bringing practice and research together, notably the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and the ICCA Consortium. With them, we document conservation practice and work with project managers to improve social aspects of their conservation work, such as restoration, tiger conservation, and landscape approaches.

Our group:

PhD students

Ariane Cosiaux, Raphia mambillensis, à la croisée des interactions sociétés - environnement: vers une écologie historique des paysages de la région des Grassfields au Cameroun. Co-supervised with Stéphanie Carrière (IRD, France).

Kavita Sharma, Woodland expansion in Scotland. Registered at ETH-Zurich. Co-supervised with Jaboury Ghazoul (ETH-Zurich) and Marc Metzger (University of Edinburgh).

Samantha Sithole, Natural resource governance and conservation initiatives: The hidden opportunity to address youth unemployment in Africa? Co-supervised with Frank Matose (University of Capetown)

Marina Cracco , Understanding the ecological infrastructure of Swiss protected areas: perceptions and impact assessments. Thesis as part of ValPar.CH.


Masters students

Simon Cheseaux. La cartographie participative et le processus de réappropriation de la gestion des espaces communautaires et au sein des politiques de conservations de la nature : Étude de cas de la communauté de Massaha au Gabon.

Noémie Lorenzi. La gestion des ressources naturelles communes et son rôle pour la conservation de la biodiversité locale : le cas de la Bourgeoisie de Sion dans le canton du Valais (Suisse).

Diana Melke. Understanding the effectiveness of alternative livelihood interventions in conservation projects: A case study on the IUCN Integrated Tiger Habitat Conservation Program.

Tina Raetzo. Quel est le rôle des populations locales dans la conservation au sein de Lewa Conservancy au Kenya et comment représenter au mieux leur implication au sein de l'exposition Lewa Savanna du zoo de Zürich ?

Bachelors

Lorraine Hamon. The portrayal of Scottish rewilding projects in sheep farms.

{FIRSTNAME LASTNAME}
Gretchen Walters
Professeure assistante

Université de Lausanne
Institut de géographie et durabilité
Mouline - Géopolis 3612
CH-1015 Lausanne
 
 
 
Tél. +41 21 692 3072
gretchen.walters@unil.ch

Landscape & Societies Groupe

Ces paysages sont des lieux dynamiques, porteurs des marques du passé à travers les interactions sociétales actuelles et lisibles à travers leur végétation, les animaux, parmi d'autres composants. Dans un lieu donné, qu'il s'agisse d'un alpage suisse ou des plateaux de savane d'Afrique centrale, l'étendue et la nature de ces lieux sont fortement influencées par les pratiques passées. Ces pratiques passées peuvent aussi influencer les rapports entre des sociétés et institutions aujourd'hui.


D'une part, notre groupe étudie comment les sociétés et les cultures façonnent les paysages au fil du temps par des pratiques culturelles comme la chasse et l'agriculture. Pour interpréter ces paysages, nous utilisons une approche de l'écologique historique par le biais de méthodes de recherche ethnographique, ethnobotanique et archivistique. Nous collaborons également avec des écologistes et botanistes pour apporter des perspectives historiques à leur travail.


D'autre part, notre groupe étudie les pratiques des sociétés et des organismes de conservation de la nature pour conserver, restaurer et protéger ces paysages aujourd'hui. Cela inclut des actions communautaires pour protéger leurs territoires, des projets de conservation (y compris les aires protégées) et de la restauration par les gouvernements et les organisations internationales. Nous utilisons l'ethnographie de la conservation, les entretiens et les approches d'écologie politique pour comprendre les interactions des acteurs, du terrain aux forums internationaux.


Nous nous engageons directement auprès des organisations communautaires et de la conservation de la nature, en rapprochant la pratique et la recherche, notamment avec l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature et le Consortium ICCA. Avec eux, nous documentons les pratiques et travaillons avec les gestionnaires de projets pour améliorer les aspects sociaux de leur travail, comme la restauration, la conservation des tigres, et les approches paysagères.

Notre group:

Doctorant.e.s

Ariane Cosiaux, Raphia mambillensis, à la croisée des interactions sociétés - environnement: vers une écologie historique des paysages de la région des Grassfields au Cameroun. Co-supervised with Stéphanie Carrière (IRD, France).

Kavita Sharma, Woodland expansion in Scotland. Registered at ETH-Zurich. Co-supervised with Jaboury Ghazoul (ETH-Zurich) and Marc Metzger (University of Edinburgh).

Samantha Sithole, Natural resource governance and conservation initiatives: The hidden opportunity to address youth unemployment in Africa? Co-supervised with Frank Matose (University of Capetown)

Marina Cracco , Understanding the ecological infrastructure of Swiss protected areas: perceptions and impact assessments. Projet en lien avec ValPar.CH.


Masters

Camille Gilloots. La section de commune de Mourex, usage commun et potential de conservation de la nature. (Politique de Reconnaissance et signalement des autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone, OECMs).

Noémie Lorenzi. Les communs et la politique de la biodiversité en Suisse.

Diana Melke. Qualitative assessment of livelihood conservation interventions in the IUCN Integrated Tiger Habitat Conservation Program.

Tina Raetzo. Quel est le rôle des populations locales dans la conservation au sein de Lewa Conservancy au Kenya et comment représenter au mieux leur implication au sein de l'exposition Lewa Savanna du zoo de Zürich ?

Bachelors

Lorraine Hamon